Mitt Knitting + Fall Yarn Deliveries

In the last week or so, knitting projects for the hands seems to be drawing all of my creative attention. Maybe it started with the Norwegian Selbu mitten I worked up for a store sample – now all I can think about when I look at yarn seems to be mitts!

DSCF0397

This weekend I worked up a pair of Make-Us-In-One-Evening crocheted mitts in Noro Kureopatora…

DSCF0429

and no sooner had Malabrigo Mecha been delivered, I seem to be casting on for a pair of mittens in the Archangel colourway (top right)…

DSCF0406

Speaking of deliveries, we also got all of these new colours in Noro Silk Garden, Silk Garden Sock, and Kureyon…. for which there happens to be plenty of free mitten patterns on ravelry, such as Cozy Classic Mitts by KT Evans, or Lightweight MIttens by Simone Van Iderstine.

DSCF0419

DSCF0417

…some new colours in Sandnesgarn Sisu, 50g sock yarn in solid colours…

DSCF0424

Sandnesgarn’s Tynn Merinoull, a fingering-weight pure superwash merino… has got me thinking about another pair of stranded colourwork mittens, maybe Katie’s Mittens by Kristin Lamm or Mittens to Order by Diane Mulholland!

DSCF0426

New to the shop is Sandnesgarn’s self-patterning sock yarn Fabel – it comes in 50g balls which makes it perfect for those projects that require that extra bit more or less than your usual 100g ball. Elaine has already decided that her favourite is the bright green colour called Guacamole, and I am growing attached to the idea of striping different colours against each other as this raveler did.

DSCF0420

On the heavier side, we have DROPS Air, DROPS Big Delight, and DROPS Polaris for you to try out on a weekend project…

DSCF0421

DSCF0425

There’s also the DROPS Nepal line, an aran weight wool/alpaca blend sold in 50g balls, perfect for heavy-weight colourwork projects! For example, mittens. I am not obsessed. I am thinking some My Sweet Dinghy Mittens by Rebecca Jost.

DSCF0430

We have a super big exciting (well, I find yarn exciting) announcement coming next week so stay tuned!

Chloe

One thought on “Mitt Knitting + Fall Yarn Deliveries

Leave a comment